Montefalco is a very nice hill-town on an outcrop of the Colli Martani above the valley of the Clitunno river.
The town has been actively settled since the times of the Umbri. It has been under the successive domination of the Romans and then Lombards the Middle Ages. In 1249 it was sacked by Frederick II, but was soon rebuilt with the modern name. From the 13th century it had been a free comune under the domination of local nobles and merchants, but later, as with many other Umbrian locales, the comune gave way to government by a Signoria — in this case, that of the Trinci from the nearby Foligno (1383-1439). In 1446 it fell under the rule of the Papal States where it remained until the unification of Italy in 1861.
Montefalco is not only famous for its beauty. The comune of Montefalco and a small area of the near town of Bevagna, Gualdo Cattaneo, Castel Ritaldi and Giano dell’Umbria constitute the regulated geographical area for the well-known Montefalco wines. Every year in September, the town sponsors a major festival called Settimana Enologica — Wine Week — where visitors can enjoy the principal wines produced in the area including the DOC Montefalco Rosso, the more complex DOCG red tannic wines Sagrantino in the two versions “secco” and “passito” (dry and sweet), for which the area is famous.